Human Rights Council

The HRC is the intergovernmental body within the United Nations System, responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of the Human Rights amongst the world. It was established by the General Assembly Resolution 60/251 of 15th March 2006. It is formed by 47 member states of the United Nations, elected for a three year period, and cannot be elected for more than two consecutive periods. The Human Rights Council has the aim to prevent violations and abuses of the HR, inequality and discrimination, protect the more vulnerable and denounce perpetrators of HR violations. The Council, which celebrated its first meeting the 19th June 2006, replaced the Commission on Human Rights. It is guided by an institutional package (Resolution HRC/5/1). The Presidency rotates annually according to geographical criteria. Since its inception, Colombia has been an observer country.

The HCR has several mechanisms: Advisory CommitteeComplaint ProcedureUniversal Periodic Review and Special Procedures (39 thematic and 14 country mandates). The HRC expresses itself through decisions and resolutions.

This intergovernmental body gathers in Geneva during 10 weeks per year, divided in 3 annual meetings (March, May-June and September). The points on the agenda and the resolutions are grouped by themes in each meeting. The meeting of March has a High Level Segment, that is attended by authorities of observers and Member States.

The importance of the HCR lies in: (i) Being a forum of discussion of topics, trends and approaches. For example in 2013, the centre of discussion was the post-2015 development agenda, though there are other on-going discussions as gender and traditional values; (ii) generating processes towards voluntary agreements or political statements (e.g. the creation of Intergovernmental Working Groups on the declaration about the rights of the peasants and the declaration on the right to peace, and the Intergovernmental Working Groups on Business and HR and on the Private Military Companies); and in (iii) being a scenario to present the national Human Rights situation and share experiences. 

Participation of Colombia in the 27th session of the HRC:

Colombia participated into its national capacity in three segments of the session. Additionally, it joined to twelve statements made on behalf of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States – CELAC-, three statements of the Non-Aligned Movement – NOAL-, and three interregional statements. 


Other statements:


font + font - contrast
contador free